The late Cobus Roodt received the posthumous award as coach of the year, while Michael Cohen scooped the award as first-class player of the year and Alexis le Breton was named women’s player of the year at the Western Province Cricket Association (WPCA) amateur awards breakfast on Saturday 30 th June.

In an emotional moment in the President’s Suite at PPC Newlands, and with a full house applauding, Roodt’s family joined the triumphant Western Province Women’s team which was awarded with the trophy as team of the year, having claimed both CSA T20 and CSA 50 over trophies.

During his legendary tenure, Roodt and his beloved WP team won 13 of the 15 trophies on offer.

Cohen captured 26 wickets for the Western Province senior team with a match haul of 9-70 his best performance last season. He also nipped out 5-107 for the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras in a Sunfoil Series match against the Warriors. He took his wickets for the semi-professional team at an average of 19.15.

Clinton du Preez, manager of amateur cricket services of WPCA, made a passionate plea that Western Province should return the provincial teams across the board to the place where they belong – at the summit of the logs and as cup winners. In this respect, the provincial women’s team and Durbanville (winner of the CSA Community Cup and Premier League winners in the AMA 20) set an example as they were two all-conquering teams.

The team award-winners:

Old Mutual Cricket Club (women 50-over league winners)

Hanover Park Cricket Club (Amacalegusha AMA 20 winners)

Bellville Cricket Club (Reserve B AMA 20 winners)

Bellville Cricket Club (Reserve A AMA 20 winners)

Blue Downs (first division D AMA 20 winners) Glamorgan (first division C AMA 20 winners) Montrose (first division B AMA 20 winners) UCT Cricket Club (first division A AMA 20 winners)

Durbanville (Premier League AMA 20 winners) Western Province Women’s Provincial team (Team of the year).

The individual award-winners:

Camerin Cook (deaf player of the year) Dominic Adriaanse (blind player of the year) Faizel Ely (mini-cricket coordinator of the year)

Rowena Stubbs (scorer of the year)

Junaide Erasmus (Cellect Cellular LSEN player of the year)

Samuel Chemaly (Cellect Cellular WP U13 player of the year)

Michael Levitt (Cellect Cellular WP U15 player of the year)

Bonga Makaka (Cellect Cellular WP U17 player of the year)

Saarah Smith (Cellect Cellular WP U19 girls player of the year)

Sisonke Mazele (Cellect Cellular WP U19 player of the year)

Mark Andrianatos (Academy player of the year)

Jacobus Roodt (WPCA coach of the year) Arnold Windvogel (umpire of the year)

Alexis le Breton (women’s player of the year) Michael Cohen (first-class player of the year)