CAPE TOWN. – Get back to basics. Establish a firm foundation and then transfer pressure to the opposition through excellent partnerships with bat and ball, has been the mantra that has made the Cape Cobras a dominant unit the past four seasons. Paul Adams, the coach, has implored his troops to use that simple yet profound strategy in the Sunfoil Series match against The Unlimited Titans at Willowmoore Park in Benoni.

The match starts on Sunday 27th December.

“We need to stay calm and composed. About six or seven wins are needed in a campaign to win the Sunfoil Series and we can do it,” Adams explained.

“We need to get back to basics. The team we have now, is a more settled squad (than the team that flattered to deceive against the VKB Knights). This squad will probably carry us through the campaign,” the coach remarked.

Adams said in the defeat against the VKB Knights the team got off to a frantic start, and lost regular wickets. Their first-innings deficit had them under enormous pressure for the rest of the game.

The Cape Cobras are renowned for their attacking and explosive brand of cricket, but they need to do the basics right by establishing a solid foundation and thereafter transfer pressure to the opposition.

The visiting attack will require accuracy and discipline against a top-heavy Titans team, who boasts the presence of the in-form Heino Kuhn, Henry Davids, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock and Farhaan Behardien in their top-five, which is the envy of many other teams.

The Cobras do have superb fire-power in Andrew Puttick, Omphile Ramela, Dane Vilas, Justin Ontong and Keegan Petersen.

They also have a bowling attack which would make a few countries proud, as Rory Kleinveldt, Beuran Hendricks, Robin Peterson and Dane Paterson are set to challenge the Titans batting order on a wicket that could be two-paced and inconsistent at times.

The teams are:

Cape Cobras: Omphile Ramela (capt), Simon Khomari, Andrew Puttick, Dane Vilas, Keegan Petersen, Justin Ontong, Lesiba Ngoepe, Lizaad Williams, Robin Peterson, Tshepo Moreki, Beuran Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Dane Paterson.

The Unlimited Titans: Henry Davids (capt), Heino Kuhn, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Farhaan Behardien, Grant Mokoena, Mangaliso Mosehle, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Rowan Richards, Ethy Mbhalati, Marchant de Lange, Junior Dala.